Last month on October 29, 2018 the New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act became effective. In general, this new law requires that all New Jersey employers provide their employees 1 hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked. This law applies even if you have only 1 employee. The next deadline is tomorrow, November 29,2018. By this date all employers will need to have posted the Department of Labor’s Notice of Employee Rights in a prominent location for all employees to see. Please be sure to fill in the benefit year before posting.
If you have any questions regarding the New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Law, please click on this link and you will be directed to my earlier post. Alternatively, please feel free to contact Douglas Leavitt or any of the other attorneys at Danziger Shapiro & Leavitt to discuss how this new change will affect your business or any other issue you may have that concerns you and your business.
This entry is presented for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice.